65 per cent of Queensland drought declared

The total area of Queensland that is drought-declared has risen to 65.2 per cent after a significant lack of rainfall across central, southern and south east Queensland.

Agriculture Minister Mark Furner has accepted the recommendations of local drought committees following their assessment of seasonal conditions and drought declared five additional shires and extended or issued part drought declarations in four others.

The new declarations cover Ipswich Regional Council, the remainder of Western Downs Regional Council, Scenic Rim Regional Council, the remainder of Banana Regional Council, Gladstone Regional Council, Rockhampton Regional Council, Livingstone Shire and the southern portion of the Central Highlands Regional Council including part of the Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council area, defined as south of the Capricorn Highway.

Any producer who is experiencing difficult conditions in any council area that is not drought declared, that they can apply for an Individually Droughted Property (IDP) declaration giving them the same access to drought assistance as an area declaration.

Producers can access further information at longpaddock.qld.gov.au.

For further information on drought assistance visit daf.qld.gov.au or call the Customer Service Centre on 13 25 23.