Drought status revoked in parts of Queensland

After another dry wet season, many farmers are still feeling the effects of a prolonged drought, but for some region of Queensland there has been some limited relief.

Yesterday the Local Drought Committees removed the drought status of several shires in northern Queensland  as well as Southern Downs. This reduces the states drought declared area from a record high of 87.47% down to 69.75%.

Minister Byne of accepted the recommendations from the drought committees and revoked nine shires and two part shies.

Those regions no longer drought declared:

  • Burke Shire Council
  • Carpentaria Shire Council
  • Croydon Shire Counci
  • Etheridge Shire Council
  • Doomadgee aboriginal shire council
  • Kowanyama aboriginal shire council
  • Pormpuraaw aboriginal shire council
  • Mt Isa City Council
  • Cook Shire Council
  • Mareeba Shire Council
  • Southern Downs Regional Council

Producers with in the revoked regions that are still facing drought conditions can apply for an Individually Droughted Property (IDP). An IDP allows access to Queensland Government drought assistance. Further information HERE