Drought status revoked for Central Highlands and Woorabinda

Drought declaration for Central Highlands Regional Council and Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council effective 25 May 2017.

This latest decision brings the drought declared area of Queensland down to 66.27% down from the i record 87.47% drought declared area early this month.

The local drought committees for Bundaberg, Cherbourg, Fraser Coast, Gympie, North Burnett, Somerset and South Burnett recommended that the drought declarations made in March this year remain in place.

The local drought committees for Moreton Bay, Sunshine Coast, Noosa, Lockyer Valley, Ipswich, Scenic Rim, Gold Coast, Logan and Redland local government areas also met this month to determine the effect of the rainfall after Severe Tropical Cyclone Debbie with the decision being reached not to drought declare these regions.

Producers in those areas still experiencing dry conditions can apply for an Individually Droughted Property (IDP) declaration which gives them the same access to Queensland Government drought assistance as an area declaration.

For further information call 13 25 23 or visit www.daf.qld.gov.au.